PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trouble starting oscilloscope program

Fishead
October 7th, 2008, 01:28 AM
Hey, I am having a hard time getting a program to execute. I am pretty new at linux, so thanks for your patience. I am also pretty determined to get past these stupid problems that have previously caused me to give up in frustration.

I am trying to use ll-scope, but when I click on the button in applications/sound & video/oscilloscope nothing happens. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks,

Chris.

caljohnsmith
October 7th, 2008, 02:35 AM
If you right-click the applications menu, select "edit menu" (or whatever it exactly is), select your oscilloscope program in the menu editor, and see what command is used to run it. Copy that into a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal) and see what happens when you try and run it from the terminal; probably it will output some errors. Please post the results so we can see.

Fishead
October 7th, 2008, 02:46 AM
Thanks for replying.

The command: jack-dssi-host ll-scope.so

The results:

jack-dssi-host: Warning: DSSI path not set
jack-dssi-host: Defaulting to "/usr/local/lib/dssi:/usr/lib/dssi:/home/fishead/.dssi"

jack-dssi-host: Error: Failed to connect to JACK server

Fishead
October 9th, 2008, 04:25 PM
Hey. Just wondering if someone can explain what this means. I figure it is pretty obvious to someone with a bit more experience then me, but I still don't know what's going on.

It isn't a huge issue as I found a REAL oscilloscope, but I would like to figure this out for the sake of knowing what's up. I have tried linux several times over the years, and never gotten over the hump of getting everything working.

Thanks for your patience.

Also if anyone knows of a good tone/signal generator program...

caljohnsmith
October 9th, 2008, 08:24 PM