View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Moving a windows install to a bigger disk

ssam
October 6th, 2008, 05:40 PM
I have been asked to install ubuntu on a computer
hp pavilion a405.uk
768MB ram
40GB IDE disk
2.5Ghz celeron

It currently has windows XP on it, and i'd like it to dual boot. I have been doing linux installs for years, but i have very little experience with windows.

There is not enough space on the disk to just resize windows' partition and add a linux one, so it is going to need a hard upgrade. I had a look inside, and it seems that it can only comfortably fit a single hard disk.

So i think i'll need to move the windows partition to the new disk. here is how i imagine it might work.

boot the machine from an ubuntu live cd.
connect new disk through a USB addapter.
create a partition layout on the new disk, with a partition exactly the same size as the current windows partition
dd the windows partition from the old drive, to the new.
switch off, take out the old drive, put the new one in.
now boot from the ubuntu installer, and install ubuntu.

will this work?
will windows still boot?
will windows demand reactivation?

caljohnsmith
October 6th, 2008, 06:22 PM
You really don't need to even make a partition for Windows on your new HDD, because I would assume you want to also copy the MBR (Master Boot Record) from the old HDD so your new HDD will be bootable. I would use dd to do a perfect clone of the old drive using something like:

sudo dd if=/dev/sda of=/dev/sdb bs=10M conv=notrunc
And of course make sure you get the input/output drives correct or you will forever lose your current Windows. :) I've used the above command to clone a friend's HDD, and it worked perfectly. If the new drive is larger than the old one (it needs to be at least as big), I would get Windows booting first, and once you can do that, you could use gparted to expand Windows' partition to fill the whole HDD.