PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error 21 is back!

ArcTrooper1773
October 6th, 2008, 11:17 AM
Hi all,

First off, apologies if I've posted this in the wrong forum. I know how annoying it is, and I *think* this is the right place :)

I'm a student at university, currently in my second year. As I have a lot of experience with computers (though unfortunately it seems to be the Micro$oft side of it), I'm generally the one my friends go to if they have a problem with their machine. Today, it seems, is no different.

I received a phonecall from one of my friends rather later than I'd like last night, informing me that he'd completely formatted an external HDD (Western Digital *tuts*) and attempted to install Ubuntu 8.04 LTS. Now, as far as I am aware, you cannot install an operating system on a USB hard drive (flash drive, maybe, but HDD? Never heard of that working) because the USB cable can't cope with the data transfer rate (please, correct me if I'm wrong!) The install went smoothly, as far as I can tell, and he now has a 40 gigabyte Ubuntu partition on a 250GB external drive. Upon restarting, he enters his BIOS password for the machine, and the error 21 for GNOME appears.

My experience of Linux-based systems and dual-booting is at present very limited (I hope to learn some valuable information off of you guys, if possible! :D), but as far as I and Google can tell, Gnome is an environment that allows you to choose which OS you'd like to boot into.

This seems to me to be a rather big problem, if I can't choose which I'd like.

At this point, I'd like to say that we have already looked at putting Linux on his machine - originally we would have liked to put it on the internal drive, but as the drive is partitioned into Windows-allocated drivespace and a 10 gig recovery partition, we couldn't alter the values without a third party partitioning tool (which I've become very wary of from past experience).