PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Windows from Ubuntu?

RwR
October 5th, 2008, 04:38 PM
Hi
I want to format my hard drive and install Windows XP again, but I have a problem: there is an option in my BIOS that was changed for no reason, making it impossible to use my USB keyboard during the computer boot. As I don't have a PS/2 keyboard avaliable, I thought that I had no way to do this because I need to press "any key" during the computer boot to run the Windows CD. So I found out that my Ubuntu 7.04 LiveCD doesn't need any key to be pressed to run, and I was able to use it (when the menu comes up, I just wait some seconds and it automatically runs the OS).

So I think the only way I have to install Windows after formatting the HD, is to install Windows from within Ubuntu, but I'm pretty sure there is no way to do that. But as a Linux noob, I think that the experts around here know better :)

Thank you.

donec
October 5th, 2008, 06:54 PM
Can't you just enable USB keyboard in your bios and then boot from your XP disk?

Elfy
October 5th, 2008, 07:21 PM
If you can get the livecd to boot then there is no reason why the win install disc won't.

So you have a couple of options - enable usb kbd if you can, or use the livecd to format a space for the win to install on.

Not sure aboiut Feisty, can't remember - but if the partition editor isn't already on the disc you could install it and then create space for windows. You need to put win at the front of the disc if you can.

What do you have installed at the moment?

Herman
October 5th, 2008, 07:44 PM