PDA

View Full Version : jobs and programming languages

jordilin
October 5th, 2008, 10:07 AM
Things that happened in live, I've ended up being a perl expert and earning a life out of perl, but I love python. When I search for a job, java and perl are quite strong in the enterprise much more than c# and python (java-c# for strong typed languages, perl-python for weak ones). I'm a bit of a language agnostic and I use the most convenient one to tackle a problem. Does it happen to you, that you end up working in a language that is not your preferred one and you feel sometimes a bit of frustrated? Beginning a career in python would be difficult as there are not as many jobs as for perl, and I'm a perl expert already.

LaRoza
October 5th, 2008, 10:13 AM
Things that happened in live, I've ended up being a perl expert and earning a life out of perl, but I love python. When I search for a job, java and perl are quite strong in the enterprise much more than c# and python (java-c# for strong typed languages, perl-python for weak ones). I'm a bit of a language agnostic and I use the most convenient one to tackle a problem. Does it happen to you, that you end up working in a language that is not your preferred one and you feel sometimes a bit of frustrated? Beginning a career in python would be difficult as there are not as many jobs as for perl, and I'm a perl expert already.

It depends on where you look. VB, C# and Java jobs are easy to come by (usually) because of the corporate-y nature of them. Schools churn out Java, VB and C# code monkeys by the dozens. (Not to say the languages are the sign of code monkey-ism, just there are a lot of them).

Python jobs are quite lucrative. Google hired Python's creator for example, and I bet he isn't complaining. Python jobs also aren't advertised in the same places.

I find learning a language doesn't interfere with others (unless that language is your first, and it teaches you bad habits).