PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Want Kubuntu on Master, W2K on Slave

Major Pain
October 5th, 2008, 02:43 AM
I've been trying to find an answer to this for a long time. I've found a lot of advice about installing the other way around, but as a noob, I need step-by-step instructions.

About 6 months ago, my W2K system blew up. Knoppix couldn't fix it any more (it had done so about eight times before). I installed Debian to my slave and started playing with it. I really liked it.

Long story short, I installed Kubuntu on my 500 GB Master and I am very happy. This *is* my primary OS and I don't want to change that. *But* I found that I could use some things in W2K that I can't quite find for Kubuntu; (some system specific software). I don't intend to use W2K very often.

So I want to install it to my Slave. But when I put in the install disk and tell it do that, it tells me it needs to write some code to the Master (I assume the MBR) but that that drive has another system on it that can't be recognized. It tells me to partition something on that drive first (there'as about 1024 MB of unpartitioned space right now on the Master; is this the MBR?)

I don't want to ruin my Kubuntu install and I want W2K on the Slave as a dual boot option. Is this possible? I've seen a lot of advice about disabling Master to install to Slave, then putting them back, etc., but do you really have to go to all that trouble just to get a windblows installation which will hardly ever be used?

Please help!

IgnorantGuru
October 5th, 2008, 03:03 AM
I recently encountered this situation with Windows wanting to write to the first SATA drive. It's not just the MBR as it required a Windows-compatible partition on the drive. I'm not sure what that's about.

This is a step-by-step which covers backing up and restoring the MBR, backing up and moving partitions, etc.:
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/How_To_Backup_Operating_Systems