PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] simply cannot install ubuntu

yyiinn
October 5th, 2008, 12:47 AM
:confused::confused::confused:
I have a repeating issue installing ubuntu...

the system simply will not accept ubuntu, i'm a complete linux noob so please excuse what might seem to be a very simple issue...

my system is as follows:

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
Corsair DDR2 PC2-5300 (333 MHz) 512 MBytes x2
SATA Western Digital 80GB HDD
IDE Western Digital 160GB HDD

and no matter what i try i simply cannot install ubuntu (32bit + 64bit) on my system, I have tried downloading the iso twice and burnt it into two different types of CDR (thinking it might be the disk or download) but everytime i boot into the loader it hangs during the slide bar progress at the beginning.

Although this happens it will allow me to install ubuntu studio ( 64 bit) although it wont boot into ubuntu studio after the install, Ive even tried opensuse11 with the same result it simply hangs during the initial boot.

Yet it installs and runs mandriva 2007 with no problems apart from the fact i have no wifi and it states that ndiswrapper is not installed even tho it is. Im not expecting help with either opensuse11 ubuntustudio or mandriva but its driving me mad as too why ubuntu will not install onto my system...

any help or advise would be much appreciated...
:confused::confused::confused:

Sef
October 5th, 2008, 12:48 AM
If you run the Live CD for a while, how do they run?

yyiinn
October 5th, 2008, 01:11 AM
from a cold boot with the disc in it. if i select to run ubuntu without altering the system the progress bar gets to the last section of the bar then the system hangs and the display goes a bit barmy.

if i try the wubi install its completes the progress bar after installation but then i get get a white "_" in the top left corner and nothing else happens, i left it like that for 5 mins thinking it might just take a min to boot but it just hangs.

hansdown