PDA

View Full Version : Netbooks, still a glimmer of hope for Linux spreading?

Helios1276
October 4th, 2008, 06:59 PM
I blame the poor adoption of Linux netbooks on the Xandros os I struggled with for a friend on his Eeepc , I'm no expert but a few months of distro hopping on various laptops means he brought it to me. I could'nt fix his wireless for him after two days of trying and bang , on goes xp. I'm hoping the alternatives that are emerging are alot more forgiving to the the new Linux adopter.

aysiu
October 4th, 2008, 07:38 PM
Well, Dell's Mini Inspiron 9 now ships with Ubuntu as an option... hasn't actually been deployed yet (still in pre-orders) but it sounds promising.

gn2
October 4th, 2008, 07:42 PM
Toshiba's NB100 will also have Ubuntu.

http://eu.computers.toshiba-europe.com/innovation/generic/NB100/banner_id/Q3_QosmioBubble_LRGBANNER_TEG08/

Paqman
October 4th, 2008, 08:54 PM
I think it's a window that's closing, to be honest. Massive numbers of the are shipping with XP. If Microsoft keep extending the availability of XP then there's no way the Linux machines can compete. And within a couple of years the hardware in a netbook will be able to run Vista to a practical level anyway.

Still, they've undoubtedly brough a lot of fresh blood in, and have led the industry to take more notice of desktop linux, so we've probably done quite well out of it.

Helios1276
October 4th, 2008, 08:57 PM
Well, Dell's Mini Inspiron 9 now ships with Ubuntu as an option... hasn't actually been deployed yet (still in pre-orders) but it sounds promising.

Dell won't sell hardware with Ubuntu over here , though maybe the netbook might be different. I've tried unsuccesfuly to convince them of their mistake. The fact that Dell has a headquarters here makes it worse.

Helios1276
October 4th, 2008, 09:02 PM