PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Lots of things suddenly gone wrong

Stevil
October 4th, 2008, 04:03 PM
Hi,
a whole bunch of things suddenly started going wrong on my desktop. I'm pretty new to Ubuntu so I have no idea what is going on. I am running Ubuntu 8.04 GNOME. :confused:
Beforehand I installed Desktop Drapes (which I have since removed), some packages for R (a statistics program), g++ and fortran.
Things were ok for a while, but then suddenly:
- nautilus was telling me that I had 0 bytes free, when I had over 1.5GB a minute before, so I cannot do anything including writing documents because the computer says I have no space left.
- After that, Firefox started to go weird: all my bookmarks disappeared and the google search bar does not work.
- A lot of my desktop applets, such as Tomboy, have disappeared and can not be put back on. It comes up with the error "The panel encountered a problem while loading "OAFIID:TomboyApplet"."
- Sometimes when I open Firefox or OpenOffice the window is filled with coloured lines and nothing happens
- Applications frequently crash
- when i click on the shut down, red square icon both top and bottom menu bars disappear
- Documents,Pictures,Videos,etc disappeared from Places menu and in the sidebar of Nautilus
- Applications menu does not work
- Screen resolution gone to 800x600
- Menu menu items don't work, eg can not get into Sessions or Main Menu
- Many of the items in the Menu have gone, eg Screens and Displays
- desktop effects have turned off and graphics drivers don't work
- Probably more stuff that I have just not found yet.

Like I said, everything was working fine until Nautilus said that I run out of space. I have deleted things, but this does not change anything.
Also things are seeming to get progressively worse. For instance, I was able to access the Applications menu until recently.
I have tried loading an earlier kernel, trying different users, running in recovery mode and nothing seems to change.