PDA

View Full Version : Kubuntu 8.10 is beautiful!

lyceum
October 4th, 2008, 02:09 PM
When I first started using a FOSS OS, I tested 100's on my laptop, and anytime something went wrong it was the Kubuntu live CD that saved me. I finally woke up and realized that Kubuntu was the OS for me, but once I started trying to use it, my dyslexia made it very hard to read the programs, they all started with "k" and that was very konfusing ;) So, I switch to the ugly one, Ubuntu (sorry fans Browns fans) and quickly learned about gnome-look.org.

For different reasons I decided to give Kubuntu another go. KDE is not abusing the letter "K" as much like they use to, 4.1 is stable, and I have been using Ubuntu for 2 years, I wanted to see something new without straying too far from home.

I must say that Kubuntu 8.10, though still somewhat a work in progress (with a month left) is AWESOME! It is the most beautiful OS I have ever seen right out of the box. I will be dual booting for a month so I can still have Ubuntu 8.04 to fall back on, but the changes from when I first saw Kubuntu to now are amazing. If you have not tried it yet, you should. I got everything I need running in no time, and everything is much easier to find (that may have something to do with my familiarity FOSS after 2 years). This is everything KDE 4.0 should have been, IMHO. My hat goes off to the KDE and the Kubuntu teams. Great job!

:guitar: :popcorn:

:KS:KS:KS:KS:KS

Canis familiaris
October 4th, 2008, 03:28 PM
I hope it is this way. Kubuntu has always been short on my expectations and its implemetation of KDE has always been poor.
If the devs manage to integrate KDE well and make Kubuntu a good KDE distro, I would be the most pleased.

1cewolf
October 4th, 2008, 04:08 PM