PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia GeForce 8600 GT PROBLEMS! choppy video playback, no compiz, it's a mess!

ggarenn
October 4th, 2008, 09:38 AM
I'm a noob with Linux (I'm sure you get a lot of those here). I decided to install it after my computer crashed and I used an Ubuntu live cd to back up all my info. I love almost everything about Ubuntu, but I'm having so much trouble with my graphics that I have no choice but to go back to Windows - unless I can fix the issues. I used EnvyNG to install the driver for my Nvidia 8600 GT. Then I followed the instructions on this entire thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=766683

I also installed Flash Player 10. Great. Now streaming video has gotten a bit better...youtube videos will actually go to full screen. But will they play? Not really. They freeze up and I'm watching the video at about 1 fps. It's terrible.

Here's what's wrong right now:

- Compiz cannot be enabled ("Desktop effects could not be enabled")

- Can't properly stream videos full screen

- Video playback is low quality & pixelated and I get horizontal lines on the screen during fast-paced movements in the video

I really need some help. Here's what I've done that I can remember...I've installed the gstreamer codecs...java...flash...vlc...and a bunch of other stuff that the aforementioned thread told me to install. But still no luck. What do I do?

Here's some more info:

ggarenn@ggarenn-desktop:~$ lspci -n | grep 0300
05:00.0 0300: 10de:0402 (rev a1)

ggarenn@ggarenn-desktop:~$ glxinfo
name of display: :0.0
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0".
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual

visual x bf lv rg d st colorbuffer ax dp st accumbuffer ms cav
id dep cl sp sz l ci b ro r g b a bf th cl r g b a ns b eat
----------------------------------------------------------------------
0x21 24 tc 1 0 0 c . . 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None
0x22 24 dc 1 0 0 c . . 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 None