PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Installing Stellarium 0.10.0 from source

status001
October 3rd, 2008, 04:40 PM
I've been using Ubuntu Hardy for eight month. That makes me a newbie to this. I figured out the most difficult thing about Linux is installing a software without any internet connection. Even if you have a net connection, you may have not the updated version of a software since it is not added to your repository. I use Stellarium-the desktop planetrium of version 0.9.1. Wherever, I've found out that, later two versions are already released. I've download the source file from here

http://www.stellarium.org/ (http://www.stellarium.org/)
http://downloads.sourceforge.net/stellarium/stellarium-0.10.0.tgz (http://downloads.sourceforge.net/stellarium/stellarium-0.10.0.tgz)

I found too many ways to install this source in internet, but since I'm a newbie, I don't know what to do exactly. If you are kind enough, please download and install it yourself and post the whole process on this thread. I'll be very pleased for this help. Thanks in advance.

Please do not post any link that leads me to another page. If you are very interested, then do what I'm asking. Thanks.

status001
October 4th, 2008, 06:34 AM
anyone???

Partyboi2
October 4th, 2008, 07:54 AM
First open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) then install a few packages that you will need installed to compile this program.

sudo apt-get install build-essential automake1.9 autoconf cmake gettext libgl1-mesa-dev libglu1-mesa-dev libsdl-dev zlib1g-dev libpng12-dev libfreetype6-dev libboost-dev libjpeg62-dev libcurl3-dev libqt4-dev doxygen graphviz libsdl-mixer1.2-dev
Then download the Sterllarium program if you have not already done so to your Desktop. Then change directory to your Desktop

cd ~/Desktop then extract the downloaded file with

tar zxf stellarium-0.10.0.tar.gz then change into the newly made directory