PDA

View Full Version : Linux+ any tips

michaelkahl
October 3rd, 2008, 12:51 AM
Not sure where to post this, but I thought I would here. I know some people say Ubuntu isn't the best distribution to study on, but I have had some experience with Fedora/CentOS.
So for anyone who has taken it, please advise.
Thanks

dioltas
October 3rd, 2008, 03:24 AM
Study what, Linux itself? If thats the case ubuntu might be a bit too easy to set up, you learn the most about linux in trying to get it working properly and setup in the first place imho.

If your studying some other subject using linux as the OS, then I'd say ubuntu is probably the best idea, as if your working on some project you probably won't have time to spend going off fixing some problem or getting some program working properly.

Also, this forum is probably the best linux resource I've ever come across, and your sure to get plenty of help regardless of whether your using ubuntu or fedora or whatever.

Edit: Sorry, didn't realise Linux+ was a course you can do. Maybe if they're giving you exercises and stuff anyway then it won't matter which distro you use, haven't done it myself so my advice is fairly limited really.

mog538
October 3rd, 2008, 10:12 AM
I haven't done Linux+ myself, the LPI exams seem to be more popular and better value. You can also do an Ubuntu specific exam with the LPI.

Check out www.certforums.co.uk - they have a linux+ section and also an "other certifications" section where the lpi exams may have been discussed.

Edit: forgot to say I have heard that some of the questions in linux+ are very focused on the details of terminal commands and the associated options, even though in real life you would just look up the man pages.

michaelkahl
October 3rd, 2008, 12:26 PM
Thanks for the replies.