PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 5.10 to 8.04 best way for very newbie

katcoyk
October 2nd, 2008, 06:49 PM
Hi,
I am very new to this and don't have extensive computer knowledge either. I just installed Ubuntu 5.10 Breezy Badger (didn't realize a 1 year old distribution would be so out of date!). Now my goal is to make it up to 8.04 by updating through all the older versions. I've been going through the manual "Beginning Ubuntu Linux" and following the installation directions for 5.10. When it told me to set up on-line software repositories, I went through all the steps, checked what I was supposed to and got the following error:

W: Couldn't stat source package list http://us.archive.ubuntu.com breezy/main Packages (/var/lib/apt/lists/us.archive.ubuntu.com_ubuntu_dists_breezy_main_bin ary-i386_Packages) - stat (2 No such file or directory)

Ditto for restricted, universe, and multiverse Packages, as well as updates, and security - basically everything I was told to select by the manual.

Is this because this version is so old? Also, when trying to update to the next version, 6.04, through the update manager, it doesn't work. Instead of automatically doing it, it tells me to go to linux.org to get the update. I figured this was do to the error messages.

So my questions are:
1. Do I need to fix whatever is causing the error messages before updating and if so, how?
2. If the error messages will not effect updating to 6.04, then how do I update? If I burn a CD, will that be OK?
3. If my ultimate goal is to get to 8.04, do I really need to update through all the old versions?

Thank you SO much for any suggestions!

K

Elfy
October 2nd, 2008, 07:07 PM
Breezy was out of support last year - it was released in 2005. If you have just installed then I would seriously think about downloading and burning the latest version.

Even if you manage to update you'll have more to download, in addition while some update without problem others don't.

katcoyk