PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How I Got Multiple Sound Output



woozyking
October 2nd, 2008, 04:38 PM
This may apply to IBM ThinkPad T43 only.

So I followed the guide from this link: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=843012, and apparently couldn't work properly when I use Skype. So I did a minor change of that guide, which is that instead of Pulse Audio as my default sound card, I still choose ICH6, and choose Default device in Skype.

This way, my Skype could work properly while other sound card needed programs still work fine.

note: my problem using just Pulse as my Skype sound device is that it occupies all my CPU resources...

markbuntu
October 2nd, 2008, 10:45 PM
Are the directions for using skype with pulseaudio wrong in this link from my guide:

http://pulseaudio.org/wiki/PerfectSetup

It would be good to know so I can change the guide. I don't use skype myself.

woozyking
October 3rd, 2008, 08:00 PM
I don't know if it's wrong, it just didn't work for me, so that's what I did for it to work perfectly :D

markbuntu
October 3rd, 2008, 10:19 PM
Well, I finally broke down and installed skype and you are right, that does not work. But I found something that did and have put a whole new SKYPE section in my guide. Now skype works in Pulse Audio like everything else. If you would give it a try to confirm this, I would appreciate it.

Thanks, Mark