PDA

View Full Version : RAM memory upgradation suggestion needed

jeyaganesh
October 1st, 2008, 07:43 PM
Hi,
I have 1gb RAM now. I would like to upgrade it to 4gb. The system scanner from www.crucial.com recommends me to upgrade to 4gb with four 1gb RAMs.

1.What about using two 2gb RAMs instead of four 1gb RAMs?

2.Currently my Dell PC has 533MHz 1gb RAM. Can I use 667MHz RAMs?
My computer manual quotes, my pc is compatible with both 533 and 667MHz. Is 667MHz RAM superior over 533MHz?

There is little written about 533 and 667MHz on net.

Your suggestion is most appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

blakjesus
October 1st, 2008, 07:47 PM
Now im no hardware expert but, heres what i think:

533MHz and 667MHz are the different speeds of the RAM sticks. 667MHz can write and read data faster than 533MHz. Also, i dont know if this applies to all computers but your computer should be able to handle 2 x 2GB Ram sticks just fine. :popcorn:

LaRoza
October 1st, 2008, 07:48 PM
First, don't waste money. If your system can use all the RAM, no point in buying it.

So, make sure your OS can use 4 GB before buying it. I don't know of any system, Windows XP or higher or Linux that can't use 3 GB, but I know Windows XP (32) can't use 4 (3.2 GB is the max I think).

Faster RAM is "better", but first ask if it is worth it. What do you do that requires so much RAM? Having a lot of RAM is fun, but computers don't increase in value. When you decide to get another, I bet this RAM will not be compatible with it.

Not trying to tell you what to do, of course, but I don't like seeing people waste money.

(I have 2.5 GB, only 1 GB of that I actually paid for (came with 1 GB, I acquired the .5 from someone who's computer I fixed (which involved upgrading the RAM, which bumped the old modules))

LaRoza
October 1st, 2008, 07:49 PM
Now im no hardware expert but, heres what i think: