PDA

View Full Version : [other] [SOLVED] Grub problem, seems unusual?

sidneylopsides
October 1st, 2008, 10:59 AM
I got a new laptop yesterday, it came with Vista home basic installed, the hard drive split into two 30GB partitions, one with Vista, one blank. There is also a 10GB recovery partition.

I installed Ubuntu on the blank space, splitting a 2GB swap partition during install.
Ubuntu boots fine, and Grub shows two Vistas, the first one is the recovery system and that launches fine.

The second one must be Vista proper, but when I select that it shows Grub stage 2 then restarts Grub, complete with countdown to auto start top option.

I've been searching around but not found anything about this problem, there are no errors to look for, and searching for Grub restarting is just giving me results for rebooting issues.
Any ideas guys? I'm still new to the world of Linux so not sure what to do!

caljohnsmith
October 1st, 2008, 03:23 PM
I got a new laptop yesterday, it came with Vista home basic installed, the hard drive split into two 30GB partitions, one with Vista, one blank. There is also a 10GB recovery partition.

I installed Ubuntu on the blank space, splitting a 2GB swap partition during install.
Ubuntu boots fine, and Grub shows two Vistas, the first one is the recovery system and that launches fine.

The second one must be Vista proper, but when I select that it shows Grub stage 2 then restarts Grub, complete with countdown to auto start top option.

I've been searching around but not found anything about this problem, there are no errors to look for, and searching for Grub restarting is just giving me results for rebooting issues.
Any ideas guys? I'm still new to the world of Linux so not sure what to do!