PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu not loading from External Harddrive

lamagy
October 1st, 2008, 02:05 AM
hi all, im a noob to linux world.

I Installed ubuntu 8.04 on my external usb hd and i have xp on the main hd.

bios has been updated to boot from external hd first but when i restart it goes straight into xp.

i did a sudo grub on stage1 and i get (hd2,5) which is the linux partition on the external drive.

the only thing i can think of is the bootloader upon the installing selection screen i chose /dev/sdc which is the external drive, should i have chosen '/dev/sdc5' ??

is the bootloader the same as grub?
is this whats causing the problem or ubuntu cannot load unless its on the main partition? is this the problem?

pls help, i've been trying for days.

mikewhatever
October 1st, 2008, 03:52 AM
Can you post the outputs of the following:

sudo fdisk -l
cat /boot/grub/device.map
cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

lamagy
October 1st, 2008, 09:58 AM
here are the fdisk -l details, i couldn't action the cat command, not sure why but nothing would happen

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 17.2 GB, 17245863936 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2227 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x220aa2b1

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 2226 16828528+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdb: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xa431a431

/dev/sdb1 * 1 24320 195350368+ 7 HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sdc: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x13e8ac0c

/dev/sdc1 1 45553 365904441 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdc2 45554 60801 122479560 5 Extended
/dev/sdc5 * 52648 60801 65496973+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sdc6 45554 52471 55568772 83 Linux
/dev/sdc7 52472 52647 1413688+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order