PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please tell me I'm not screwed..please :(

caitistrophic
October 1st, 2008, 12:49 AM
Please tell me I'm not screwed..please :( My ubuntu is severely messed up - when ever I boot up I have to cancel a boot scan otherwise it claims to be unable to find an OS. This has been happening ever since an update a while a back - since then I've refused to do anymore for fear of making things worse. I'm a horrible newb. I sort of stopped caring about whether this ubuntu works as long as it can survive until I can just reinstall the whole thing all over again - maybe even try a different version. I'm pretty sure I need to but - I have to wait one more week before I have the capability of backing up all my stuff. I have a ton of important paper work, family pics and ebooks on here. Losing any of it would be the end of me - I'm probablly over reacting because of the emotional attachment - it's hard to do anything when I keep crying - it's so stupid. But here's what's going on. My panels are gone and I can't access the terminal to reinstall what I need for it. I've already read so much that doesn't seem to apply here because so much on this system doesn't work I don't even have help files on here and I don't know why - anyways, the panels are gone gone - I uninstalled them somehow while trying to get rid of evolution the mail client thingy. It said the desktop and panels were attached to one of evolution things I uninstalled - I just assumed that they were just parts of the panel and desktop - or had hoped - but it didn't turn out that way - they're all completely gone. Something with evolution keeps running my processes everytime I let my son play on here and it scares me that my pc is gonna burn out like he did to my last pc. I lost so much back then and I can't go through that again. He plays on sesame street and disney go alot (he's five) and I don't know - I hate those sites anyways but he loves them. And everytime he's been on there the cache