PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu gaining mainstream press

motang
September 30th, 2008, 08:18 PM
This (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2331360,00.asp) is the second article I have seen recently that suggest us to build a inexpensive computer and install Ubuntu in favor of the other OS that I shall not mention.

I think this is great as a Ubuntu user for the past 4 years, and a Linux user since 2000 (not full time but as for school use), I have come to realize that what this article suggest is a wonderful thing as I have been saying for the past 3 years that Ubuntu is perfect fit for everyday use (not for gaming which we all know it's not Ubuntu's or any other Linux distributors fault and it's out of their hands). I run Ubuntu on two of my machines exclusively and Xubuntu on my eeeBox, though I still have a machine with Win XP Pro on it (it's an 5 year old computer) I have been lazy to replace the OS on it, but lately I have been thinking about OpenSolaris on that machine but that is going to be side project (sorry for going off topic).

So what do you guys think?

david_lynch
September 30th, 2008, 08:35 PM
This (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2331360,00.asp) is the second article I have seen recently that suggest us to build a inexpensive computer and install Ubuntu in favor of the other OS that I shall not mention.

Ubuntu is perfect fit for everyday use (not for gaming which we all know it's not Ubuntu's or any other Linux distributors fault and it's out of their hands)

Linux unfit for gaming? where did you hear that? I'm a hard core gamer, mainly 3D FPS, and I don't do *******.

If it doesn't run on linux, it doesn't exist as far as I'm concerned - but no worries, there are lots of good 3D FPS games for linux, more than I could possibly even evaluate. From Quake 3 arena and it's modern day descendants, to RtCW and ET, ut2000, 2003, 2004 (still waiting for ut3), doom 3, quake 4 and more.