PDA

View Full Version : Mythbuntu & WinTV Nova-T PCI

knowledene
September 30th, 2008, 09:12 AM
I'm new to Linux & trying to learn fast. Having just installed Mythbuntu 8.04 MythTV Version: 0.21, I have a problem scanning channels.

The card is an old one - a WinTV Nova-T PCI with a Philips SAA7146 chip.

The scan goes through but with a signal strength of up to 18% but there are no channels.

lspci -v shows
01.09.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7146 (rev 01)
Subsystem: Technotrend Systemtechnik GmbH Technotrend-Budget/Hauppauge WinTV-NOVA-T DVB card
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 32, IRQ 21
Memory at df001000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=512]

Part of dmesg is:-
[66.503306] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:09.p[A] -> Link [APC2] -> GSI 17 (level,high) -> IRQ21
[66.503362] saa7146: found saa7146 @ mem f8a40000 (revision 1, irq 21) (0x13c2,0x1005).
[66.503372] saa7146 (0): dma buffer size 192512
[66.503375] DVB: registering new adapter (TT-Budget/WinTV-NOVA-T PCI)
[66.539100] adapter has MAC addr - 00:d0:5c:20:40:7d
[66.611956] nvidia: module license 'NVIDIA' taints kernel.
[66.965488] DVB: registering frontend 0 (LSI L64781 DVB-T)...
............... etc
[142.102958] DVB: frontend frequency limits undefined - fix driver
[142.103120] DVB: frontend frequency limits undefined - fix driver
[142.103198] DVB: frontend frequency limits undefined - fix driver
............... etc

$ sudo nano /etc/modprobe - shows it is empty
$ sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/options - has the following:-
# Enable double-buffering so gstreamer et. al. work
options quickcam compatible=2
# Default hostap to managed mode
options hostap_pci iw_mode=2
options hostap_cs iw_mode=2

Now I am stuck & haven't a clue what to do next. I've spent a lot of time searching the forums to get so far.
Can anyone advise please?

SiHa
September 30th, 2008, 12:06 PM
Now this might be a silly question, and feel free to shoot me down...