PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how can i set password confirmation when leaving lock screen

--Meteor
September 29th, 2008, 09:55 AM
Hello everyone,I am a beginner with ubuntu and now I am using ubuntu 8.04. the problem how can I set password confirmation when leaving lock screen confuses me. If anyone know that ,please give me a hand! Thank you!:K:confused:

Rhubarb
September 29th, 2008, 10:03 AM
Hello everyone,I am a beginner with ubuntu and now I am using ubuntu 8.04. the problem how can I set password confirmation when leaving lock screen confuses me. If anyone know that ,please give me a hand! Thank you!:K:confused:
I'm a bit confused myself with regards to your question.
I'll try anyway, after locking your screen, and you want to unlock it, simply type in your password, and press enter. It's quite easy.

Locking your computer is a very good thing to do if you leave you computer alone for lunch break at work in an office job.

--Meteor
September 29th, 2008, 10:42 AM
I'm a bit confused myself with regards to your question.
I'll try anyway, after locking your screen, and you want to unlock it, simply type in your password, and press enter. It's quite easy.

Locking your computer is a very good thing to do if you leave you computer alone for lunch break at work in an office job.

I am sorry for my confused words. I mean that, when I unlock it, it doesn't ask me for typing in my password. How can I make it have the password confirmation.Thank you for your help!

Rhubarb
September 29th, 2008, 11:46 AM
I haven't come across this before, it's always just worked.
One thing you could try:

Press Alt + F2, type in: gconf-editor
Navigate to: apps --> gnome-power-manager --> lock

Then check to see if you get what I get there.
This might just work for you.

This thread might be of assistance too: http://linux.derkeiler.com/Mailing-Lists/SuSE/2008-07/msg02024.html

binbash
September 29th, 2008, 03:17 PM
You can do it via ubuntu-tweak

--Meteor
October 3rd, 2008, 04:32 AM