PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Won't boot into Ubuntu or Windows. Grub error 21

timdownie
September 28th, 2008, 09:01 PM
Apologies if this has been done to death repeatedly but I'm totally new to Linux.

I had Windows problems with my PC after a trial run of ubuntu without installation but that turned out to just be a creaking windows problem solved by a long overdue complete re-installation.

Having fixed the Windows XP problem, I had a go at installing Ubuntu to an external USB hd. Everything seemed to be going well until the reboot when the system hangs with a "loading stage 1.5" and "Grub error 21" message.

Unfortunately, removing the external hd doesn't allow the PC to boot with Windows so the only way I can access the machine at the moment is with the live CD.

I've searched the forums a bit and it seems I'm not alone but I find most of the advice close to doubledutch so I'm hoping there's someone out there with a bit of patience.

FWIW, my PC has a 250gb sata HD and the BIOS does allow for booting from USB memory sticks and USB CD roms but there's no option for USB HDs.

I'm not desperate to have Linux on a USB external drive, I just wanted to try it out "safely" but it seems I've screwed that up. ;-).

In the short term, what's the easiest way of getting Windows back? Should I just take the plunge and install Ubuntu to the main HD and forget faffing around with and external drive?

TIA

Tim

werries
September 28th, 2008, 09:50 PM
you probably need to update grub.

1. Pop in the Live CD, boot from it until you reach the desktop.
2. Open a terminal window or switch to a tty.
3. Type "grub"
4. Type "find /boot/grub/stage1"
6. it should find where grub is, then do "root (hd0,0)", and put in the info for what it said before (hd0, 3) for example.
5. Type "setup (hd0)", to whatever your harddisk number is.
6. Quit grub by typing "quit".
7. Reboot.

caljohnsmith
September 28th, 2008, 09:59 PM