PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can anyone REALLY help me as a novice here

gavmoulds
September 24th, 2008, 10:40 PM
Hi everyone.

I have managed to successfully instal ubuntu and partition my drive with my existing winxp.

Problem..I can no longer boot the xp.

It is listed in the post screen and I can select it. All that happens is a message saying 'starting' and a flashing cursor.

This has really p''''''ssed me off to say the least.

I just completed a complete re install after getting rid of crappy vista..now everything is lost to ubuntu.

I want to turn back this error

Pumalite
September 24th, 2008, 10:44 PM
Edit your menu.lst and add an entry for XP below the AUTOMAGIK line
title Windows
root (hd0,0) or whatever)
makeactive
chainloader +1

gavmoulds
September 24th, 2008, 10:49 PM
Edit your menu.lst and add an entry for XP below the AUTOMAGIK line
title Windows
root (hd0,0) or whatever)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Could you say that in english please

Pumalite
September 24th, 2008, 11:07 PM
cat /boot/grub/menu.lst

sneeks
September 24th, 2008, 11:23 PM
what he means is you have to change xp to hda0,if that was the first install on the system.
i will find the thread that does this in normal blokes talk when i get a minite.

gali98
September 24th, 2008, 11:27 PM
Okay first, you really shouldn't have used that title.. First it does not help anyone know your problem, Second it is just pure idiotcy to put a title like that.
Anyway, you might just try running the command
update-grub
and see if that helps.
Kory

Pumalite
September 24th, 2008, 11:28 PM
http://www.howtoforge.com/dual_boot_windows_xp_vista_ubuntu_feisty_p2?

Pumalite
September 24th, 2008, 11:30 PM
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/installing
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/partitioning

sneeks
September 24th, 2008, 11:38 PM
found two for you,but not the one i really wanted to show ya(have limited time,but will check tomorrow on.)
sneeks.