PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ms-sys install and windows xp pro repair

Delinquentme
September 25th, 2008, 03:36 PM
hey all!

so I've had a Ubuntu live CD laying around my house for a while now and thanks to windows...

NOW I HAVE A REASON TO TRY IT OUT!!

ha ha so i loaded it up and absolutely LOVE it.

SO to my question:

i did some googling and found that theres a program called "ms-sys" that can be used to fix windows problems which is fantastic cause thats what i have :P

that being said the walk through had me enable the "universe" repository then open the terminal and give it this line:

sudo apt-get install ms-sys

so i hit ENTER and get this:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo apt-get install ms-sys
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package ms-sys
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$

so I'm dead in the water here

additionally i checked out some manual downloads( lol I'm new to Ubuntu and I'm starting to think that the terminal line IS the manual way to d/l and install so maybe I'm using the wrong terms here)

but the Ubuntu site recommended aptitude or synaptic as a "package manager" can anyone recommend using either one of these

or better yet explain whats going on with the terminal??

thanks so much

:guitar:
rock on
:lolflag:

pytheas22
September 25th, 2008, 04:17 PM
The package for ms-sys is not available on Ubuntu 8.04, apparently because Microsoft says that it infringes on its copyrights (https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/ms-sys/+question/28349). That's why you're getting an error about it not being found.