PDA

View Full Version : how can i install R (the statistical package)

albean
November 20th, 2005, 11:19 PM
Hi,

I'm new to ubuntu and linux. I would like to install R but I don't know how. I think i have to issue some apt command at the command line, however, I'm not sure exactly what. I've googled around but could not find anything. I hope somebody can help me to know what command i should type.

Thanks.

rejser
November 21st, 2005, 11:28 AM
Don't think you can apt-get R.
download r-base-core_2.2.0.final-0sarge2_i386.deb r-mathlib_2.2.0.final-0sarge2_i386.deb r-base_2.2.0.final-0sarge2_i386.build r-recommended_2.2.0.final-0sarge2_i386.deb (think you need them all, if you run amd64pick the once which ends on amd64) from
http://cran.r-project.org/bin/linux/debian/sarge/
they worked for me.
Normally firefox saves to desktop, so open a terminal and write
cd Desktop && sudo dpkg -i *.deb

rejser
November 21st, 2005, 11:29 AM
By the way, if you have access to spss it runs perfect under wine

Ubuntist
November 21st, 2005, 11:40 AM
I recently installed R using Synaptic -- just do a search for "r-" in package names.

It works fine from the command line -- just type "R" to start. I've also installed something that is supposed to be a GUI for R, but I haven't yet figured out how to run it.

albean
November 21st, 2005, 04:34 PM
Thanks guys,

I'll give it a try when I get home thise evening.

I'll let you know how it goes.

MakubeX
December 22nd, 2005, 07:33 AM

Perfect? I can't find a way to successfully generate some charts/graphs from my data (when SPSS is executed via Cedega/CrossOver).

In wine, I can't pass the network version/status check - the program terminates a few seconds after showing that "network check" splashscreen.

Do you have some references?

towsonu2003
March 3rd, 2006, 08:04 AM
spps doesn't wotk for me in wine

towsonu2003
March 3rd, 2006, 08:06 AM
I recently installed R using Synaptic -- just do a search for "r-" in package names.