PDA

View Full Version : Greg Kroah Hartman

its_jon
September 24th, 2008, 03:05 PM
Im new to Linux and selected Ubuntu

Just seen this man talking to Google people on You tube.
In the video he appears to paint Canonical in a bad light.
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=L2SED6sewRw&NR=1

I know the Novell/Microsoft deal is old news.... But its new to me :)

Reading between the lines it looks as though Greg Kroah Hartman has a commercial interest in the success of the Novell/Microsoft partnership which is unfortunate as he appears to be a key man in the development of the Linux Kernel central to the Ubuntu OS.

Could it really come to the point where Microsoft take control of Linux through a back door ?

Although im new to Linux and not a very rich man I would be happy to donate to any legal fund that may help to beat back any such advance.

Whats happening at the moment ?

Thanks
John
Scotland

artir
September 24th, 2008, 05:01 PM
The GPL would avoid that :P
Even if Ubuntu goes evil, we can always create Otherbuntus.

Vadi
September 24th, 2008, 05:12 PM
Don't worry about it for now. The most support Ubuntu needs right now is trianging the thousands of bug reports on Launchpad :)

its_jon
September 24th, 2008, 06:09 PM
The man in this Video appears to be much more palatable
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JiIl123dz50&feature=related
He appears to be talking for the right team by comparison.

I used to bugtrack for deliplayer.
got quite involved in its ui development at one point... unfortunately a lot of my ui concepts were shelved in favor for retro window ideas.
Opening info 'in windows' should have been one of 30 to 40 concepts on the table... I find it utterly bizarre that so much effort has gone into making the windows linux and microsoft appear with so much animation. When resources were low ie atari TOS it was perfect. That was 20 YEARS ago. Why are we still using dragbars with so much processing power at hand ??