PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to partition UBUNTU 8.04 (need help badly!!!!)

uglybastard0
September 24th, 2008, 03:03 PM
hey guys,

i'm new to ubuntu...i'm currently running on windows xp sp2 and i plan to dual boot using UBUNTU 8.04 LTS (you know, test the water first before plunging in)...

as a backgrounder, i have partitioned my 250GB hard drive into three (3) partitions (80GB each) using windows...my windows XP is installed in the 1st partition; the 2nd is where all my media (mp3s, pictures, applications, etc.)...the 3rd is left empty (i've read from a magazine (Linux Format) that you should install Linux (ubuntu, for that matter) to a separate partition if you plan to dual boot -- besides the fact that it may cause conflict if installed in the same partition as that of windows)...

i already burned the image to a CD and have tried to install ubuntu (almost)...

anyways, i'm having problems on partitioning...i tried to use the 3rd option (manual partitioning) but i'm having second thoughts (in short, nervous coz i might %&$#-up my computer)...the window showed me the 3 partitions...i opted for the 3rd partition (assuming that it's the empty partition)...it then asked me to partition it (root something)...and that's where my mind flew away (i really don't know what to do)...

could you guys help me out? pls. send me a step-by-step procedure (i've read the procedure from softpedia.com but i'm still having problems specifically on partitioning ubuntu)...

i already tried contacting the philippine linux users group (PLUG) though...

thanks a million

my email add: ugly_bastard6@yahoo.com :confused:

Elfy
September 24th, 2008, 03:34 PM
Welcome to the forum.

You need 2 partitions - 1 for / (root) and 1 for swap. Swap should be equal or greater than ram if you need to hibernate. If not for ram less than 1Gb then swap = 1.5xRAM, for more thna 1Gb I have found 512Mb of swap sufficient (I have 1Gb swap and never use it all).