PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub-error when installing Ubuntu 8.04

SomeIdiot
September 24th, 2008, 11:39 AM
Hey all,

This is my first post on this forum and generally I am pretty new to Linux.

I get the following error when trying to install Ubuntu:

"Executing 'grub-install (hd0)' failed.

This is a fatal error."

I am trying to install on a 20 GB partition. I have already installed Windows XP x64 on a separate partition and the intention is to dual boot these. Additionally I have a ~75 GB NTFS partition.

Well I must say I am pretty lost. I have tried a few guides I have found around these forums about how to install Grub from a live CD, but none have worked for me.

Any help would be appreciated.

Sealbhach
September 24th, 2008, 12:30 PM
Hi,

this thread may have a solution for you.

http://ge.ubuntuforums.com/showthread.php?t=785260

I think the reason is that XP is already on hd0 so grub can't install itself there.

caljohnsmith
September 24th, 2008, 04:12 PM
If the installer fails at 94% with that Grub error, then that is unfortunately a known bug. But the good news is that there are at least two workarounds, and the easiest is probably:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=810205

Let me know if that applies to you or not.

fourthofjuly
September 24th, 2008, 04:18 PM
Hey all,

This is my first post on this forum and generally I am pretty new to Linux.

I get the following error when trying to install Ubuntu:

"Executing 'grub-install (hd0)' failed.

This is a fatal error."

I am trying to install on a 20 GB partition. I have already installed Windows XP x64 on a separate partition and the intention is to dual boot these. Additionally I have a ~75 GB NTFS partition.

Well I must say I am pretty lost. I have tried a few guides I have found around these forums about how to install Grub from a live CD, but none have worked for me.

Any help would be appreciated.