PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] encryption techniques

jmd9qs
September 24th, 2008, 08:01 AM
hey,

can't find a good way (google is great, but google'ing for linux questions often leaves me w/ other questions...), to encrypt DIRECTORIES...

i can, and have, encrypted/decrypted many a file w/ ccrypt and mcrypt, however, i am a linux newbie, and i would like to encrypt directories (and subsequently all the files in them) using one command. all this without the risk of "ruining" or "overwriting" or whatever. seriously. i need this. please, please help me. oh jesus

Primefalcon
September 24th, 2008, 09:52 AM
hit alt + f2 and type in

seahorse

create a set of gnugp code keys, then you can right click on any folder, file and select encrypt

just so you know, thats governmental level encryption btw ;-)

jmd9qs
September 25th, 2008, 08:40 PM
the seahorse thing works well and is customizable enough for me... however, when i encrypt using it, it just creates encrypted COPIES of whatever i encrypted... i was hoping that it would encrypt and keep the original file so i don't have to delete the original everytime i encrypt/decrypt. any way to do this?

_sAm_
September 25th, 2008, 09:41 PM
You could try encfs(witch upcoming Ubuntu will have by default). It is an encrypted filesystem.

You could encrypt one folder and have all your private stuff inside, the size is not fixed - it will grow as you move/save files in it(so it will not be bigger then whats inside).

I googled for a guide for you and found this one;
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=148600

jmd9qs
September 25th, 2008, 11:08 PM
thanks! this works beautifully and is EXACTLY what i wanted... appreciate it

Primefalcon
September 25th, 2008, 11:40 PM
that is good for general use however if there is something that you want to keep completely secure I'd still try the gnugp since that is governmental level secure as I said.

to get rid of the original file securely(unrecoverable)

in your terminal