PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone actually paid for software?

machiner
December 27th, 2004, 03:05 AM
I'll admin - I was "in the biz" for a while, so it was pretty easy to get any software I needed...I worked as a VAR for msoft products...and the whole y2k thing...and some other admin and sales gigs --

anyway that ended a few years ago.

I looked over the software I have for windows a few months ago -- most of what I got from work I just gave away - and I was astounded at the estimated $$ amount I put to it. I have one piece of software that actually costs $12,000 to install and set up on one machine with 5 licenses -- AYFKM??

Aside from that POS title (point-of-sale) I came to about 6 grand. I am including expensive ms apps like all of the versions of office I have (all of them -- although I haven't run winnt in a while) few games I never played and a ton of other stuff - some quite expensive -- I think autocad 8? (memory now - from years ago) was >$10,000, although I didn't count that one.

In all the years of "personal computing" I don't think I paid for that much software -- it's all crap anyway was my justification.

I did, however, pay for:

MS windows 98 (gave it away, got 98SE - no $$, gave it away)
MS windows 2000 (upgrade)
J. River Media Center 9 (excellent)
I think that's about it.

In 1997 I was introduced to astalavista...(url witheld)

These days I wouldn't recomend folks go there for the purposes I used to - I've seen some pretty bad consequences on some friend's machines...you have been warned.

I used to download and crack shareware like it was going out of style, and I still think I have about 50 cd's full of the stuff. I never did it to actually "steal" software, I just needed longer than 30 days. I would install it and get back to it 3-4 weeks later usually, and I got pretty sick of seeing "your evaluation period has expired..."

but when I finally got serious with my box (winnt-4) I looked for better software alternatives. Free ones.