PDA

View Full Version : Open Source Database Frontends?

DarkOx
September 24th, 2008, 04:22 AM
I'm a fourth-year university student majoring in Accounting, but interested enough in computers that I'm taking a database course as an option for my B.Comm. Our first assignment is to create a database for a hypothetical rent-a-car service. The course mostly focuses on modeling the business process and translating that into a database design; my prof says we can use whatever tools we want for the database so long as he can open it.

I've access to a couple of Microsoft programs that could do the job -- Access 2007 or SQL Server 2005 -- but I was wondering what the Open Source world had to offer. MySQL or PostgreSQL could do the database easily enough, but the project requires a graphical interface. Is there anything I could use to create the user interface, kind of like the way you can create one in Access? Or would I have to learn a programing language a la PHP to do it?

Finally, if I do have to learn a language, which one would be best for this kind of thing? Or is there even a best?

tinny
September 24th, 2008, 06:11 AM
For an open source database solution ive always liked MySQL.

Here are the visual tools for it...

MySQL Database design:
MySQL Workbench (http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/workbench/5.0.html)

MySQL Database management:
MySQL GUI tools (http://dev.mysql.com/downloads/gui-tools/5.0.html)

pmasiar
September 24th, 2008, 05:15 PM
One of simple solutions would be Python+Django (web framework) + SQLite database. Django includes simple web server. Clean MVC like Django is preferable over PHP solution, IMNSHO.

DrMega
September 24th, 2008, 05:23 PM
MySQL or PostgreSQL could do the database easily enough, but the project requires a graphical interface. Is there anything I could use to create the user interface, kind of like the way you can create one in Access? Or would I have to learn a programing language a la PHP to do it?