PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problem installing software

carl321
September 23rd, 2008, 10:58 PM
Hi i am a linux newbie and i have come across a problem installing software. I keep getting the following (E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.) Please help me understand this..:(
thanks..

oilchangeguy
September 23rd, 2008, 11:01 PM
open a terminal (command line) and type sudo dpkg --configure -a and press enter.

hyper_ch
September 23rd, 2008, 11:04 PM
well, have a read at what that error message says... I mean it's not that complicated...

oilchangeguy
September 23rd, 2008, 11:05 PM
well, have a read at what that error message says... I mean it's not that complicated...

now there's no reason to be an a** hole. does it say anywhere in the error message to add sudo to the command? think before you speak.

lisati
September 23rd, 2008, 11:06 PM
open a terminal (command line) and type
sudo dpkg --configure -a and press enter.
+1: You'll be asked for a password. Don't worry if it doesn't show (this is a normal Ubuntu security precaution), just use the same one you use for your normal login.

carl321
September 23rd, 2008, 11:19 PM
Thank oilchangeguy works fine. As for the smart **** as i said i am a total beginner at linux so try taking a leaf out of oilchangeguys book.
Thanks again..:)

hyper_ch
September 24th, 2008, 06:15 AM
now there's no reason to be an a** hole. does it say anywhere in the error message to add sudo to the command? think before you speak.

(1) watch your language and keep this forum friendly

(2) if he did what the error message said, then he would have gotten another one and could have asked about that

(3) do you think before you speak?

overdrank
September 24th, 2008, 06:27 PM
Hi and to all, please remember the COC and be polite in responding. If you do not think you can then please do not respond. :)
http://ubuntuforums.org/index.php?page=policy