PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] aptoncd broke packages

lengo
September 23rd, 2008, 08:35 PM
I wasn't sure if this should go in "Absolute Beginner Talk" or here, but I put it here. Mods can move if necessary . . .

I installed 8.04 from CD and was kindly informed that there were 252 updates (and as many or more MB :shock:) waiting for me. Being as I am in a country where internet access is at a premium, I visited the network administrator at a local educational institution who kindly provided me with a CD of packages created with APTonCD. I loaded the packages to my cache (/var/cache/apt/archives) and, after a fairly long internet search, found that I could install them with:

sudo dpkg -i *.deb