PDA

View Full Version : A little help with IRC

randancing
September 23rd, 2008, 08:23 AM
I downloaded the irc client 'chatzilla' for firefox and now I find that I have no idea how to use it. I have followed the faq and quick start patterns that I found on the chatzilla website, but I am not sure what I am doing.

Has anyone connected with the Ubuntu servers? If so could you post a code pattern on the forum that I could follow just to get me started.

I am new to the concept of irc and find it fascinating. I know that there is no activity here, but there seem to be some teams that use it, and it would be fun to join in and follow the conversation.

Any help would be appreciated.

Jim

randancing
September 25th, 2008, 11:04 PM
Now I see.

The process is fairly simple with Chatzilla. It's the 'help' that you get that is incredibly archaic and convoluted.

The first thing I learned that had to be done when downloading Chatzilla, is to go to the menu chatzilla>preferences... and there you will find that chatzilla has used your computer name as your nickname and user name.
Since I am going to go on the ubuntu-us-nm chat, what it needs to display is my ubuntu user name (the site uses a form of identification and if you are not an Ubuntu user, it seems to reject you.)
Now back to the main chatzilla window. You will see a lot of stuff, but the main thing is the llist of servers supported by chatzilla. click on 'freenode'.
There will be a quick load of a lot of stuff,which, unless you are a history buff,probably isn't going to be of importance to you.
Down below the main window is a smaller window where you can type stuff.
On the right side of the page is an arrow with a ninety degree bend pointed toward the typing area. After you type stuff that you want to enter, you click on that arrow and it will send it (hitting enter just sends you to the next line to be typed)

Once you are in 'freenode' type in the following---

/join #ubuntu-us-nm