PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Ubuntu/Kubuntu upgrading too fast?

nitehawk777
September 23rd, 2008, 01:42 AM
Just a quick question,...
I'm still fairly new to Linux (less than a year,..but have tried oodles)! Kubuntu is just working TERRIFIC for me,...(love it). But I have read many posts and other things on the net that suggest NOT to use (quote) "any of the "buntus".....as they get upgraded far too quickly (six-months cycles) and there-fore may eventually "breakdown"......(?)

I'm not too sure what they mean, exactly,...but I believe they mean that the kernal may get up-graded too quickly for some of the apps to fit,..(etc.)

So does anyone experienced in the Ubuntu community have any ideas or input on that? Will Ubuntu/Kubuntu be fairly stable for some time to come? (hope so). Can't believe how well I like Kubuntu,....and I had read horror stories about it on the web (how you couldn't find any apps for it, etc. etc. etc.). I'm a "newbie"...and I've been able to install all I need (Wine, Firefox3.01, games,........)....works for me.:KS

jemate18
September 23rd, 2008, 01:48 AM
Just a quick question,...
I'm still fairly new to Linux (less than a year,..but have tried oodles)! Kubuntu is just working TERRIFIC for me,...(love it). But I have read many posts and other things on the net that suggest NOT to use (quote) "any of the "buntus".....as they get upgraded far too quickly (six-months cycles) and there-fore may eventually "breakdown"......(?)

I'm not too sure what they mean, exactly,...but I believe they mean that the kernal may get up-graded too quickly for some of the apps to fit,..(etc.)