PDA

View Full Version : Media Players

boobuntu
September 22nd, 2008, 10:32 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a noob to the Ubuntu world but I'm loving it so far! Can someone recommend me a good media player. Now when I say media, I'm mostly talking mp3's but I'll take any kind of DVD related answers as well.

Thanks!!

dje
September 22nd, 2008, 10:33 PM
banshee, rhythmbox, vlc 0.9.2 which isn't in the ubuntu repos - install guide (http://blog.jetienne.com/2008/09/vlc-092-on-ubuntu-804.html) - (although the one in the repos is also awesome)

dje

paul101
September 22nd, 2008, 10:35 PM
Audacious, the best ;)

kinna like winamp

RiceMonster
September 22nd, 2008, 10:37 PM
Audacious, the best ;)

kinna like winamp

That's what I was going to say. Audacious for sure; especially if you like winamp (with classic skins).

billgoldberg
September 22nd, 2008, 10:37 PM
I can suggest bmpx.

I especially like its shoutcast features (thousands of online radios available from within the player).

And it looks pretty good also.

--

I myself use Exaile.

It has an easy normal library (unlike Banshee!). And the playlists are easy to make.

I also don't like Mono so Banshee is a no go for me.

--

If you are looking for something different (and with that much harder to set-up, but easier to use), take a look at this article I wrote.

http://linuxowns.wordpress.com/2008/07/27/setting-up-mpd-locally/

--

Some people might suggest Audacious. I find it a horrible player.

If you need something like that, I suggest you find a .deb for xmms.

boobuntu
September 22nd, 2008, 10:41 PM
Great! Some nice suggestions here for me to look into. Thanks!

jeyaganesh
boobuntu, try banshee first. You will love it.

boobuntu
boobuntu, try banshee first. You will love it.

For you - I will! Hehe. I will give that a go first.

andrewabc
September 22nd, 2008, 11:12 PM
If you want something that works and looks like winamp use audacious.

Erdaron
September 22nd, 2008, 11:19 PM