PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] firefox 3.0.2 for hardy?



Knacker
September 22nd, 2008, 07:35 PM
I'm having endless, unfixable problems with FF 3.0.1. Is there a version after 3.0.1 that I can get for hardy? Or, better, does anyone know when the next official firefox update is coming for hardy users? I've looked for an answer and can't find one.

Anyone? Please?

Need some hope that flash,nspluginwrapper, etc. problems are going to be fixed or I've got to start moving things over to opera again.

Thanks!

Tatty
September 22nd, 2008, 07:47 PM
It is highly unlikely that FF will be updated in the hardy repos to 3.0.2 unless there is a major security flaw found which makes it essential.

Software versions in the repos are locked after each release to keep each release stable.

8.0.2 will be included in Ibex i believe, which is to be release at the end of october.

If you want the latest FF in the meantime you will have to download and install it manually.

Mornedhel
September 22nd, 2008, 07:49 PM
Software versions in the repos are locked after each release to keep each release stable.

Well security and bugfix releases are sometimes pushed to the repositories, as well. Sometimes even feature releases, as long as they're minor releases.

Knacker
September 22nd, 2008, 07:50 PM
thank a lot for your reply! that's too bad. is it a really bad idea to manually install a newer version of FF? it's either that or opera... and, if it's do-able, where would i go for a newer version of firefox?
sorry if these are dumb questions. thanks again!!

Tatty
September 22nd, 2008, 07:51 PM
Well security and bugfix releases are sometimes pushed to the repositories, as well. Sometimes even feature releases, as long as they're minor releases.

Usually It is only serious security issues or minor bugfix's. Adding features after a final ubuntu release is rare, and only really happens in special circumstances.

SuperSonic4
September 22nd, 2008, 07:52 PM
No, it should be OK but it is much harder to compile from source than to install from the repos

Knacker
September 22nd, 2008, 07:55 PM
well, i guess my question is where do i look to see if a bugfix is on the way and/or if there is a newer/more stable version of firefox?

my sense, after having tried to sort out the constant crashing problems with 3.0.1. that I'm not the only person (!!) having trouble with this version of FF.

billgoldberg
September 22nd, 2008, 08:21 PM
I don't see why, if 3.0.1 made it in, 3.0.2 wouldn't get into the Ubuntu repo.

Tatty
September 22nd, 2008, 08:22 PM
Well, having a look at the firefox website, 3.0.1 appears to be the latest stable version. so i wouldnt reccomend trying to compile the development version yourself.

What sort of problems are you having with firefox? If it is crashing, it may be worth running it from a terminal to see if it gives any error messages.

billgoldberg
September 22nd, 2008, 08:23 PM
well, i guess my question is where do i look to see if a bugfix is on the way and/or if there is a newer/more stable version of firefox?

my sense, after having tried to sort out the constant crashing problems with 3.0.1. that I'm not the only person (!!) having trouble with this version of FF.

When a new version of firefox comes out you could always install it manually from the .tar.gz file they provide.

If you don't know how to install it, you could google "install firefox 3.0.2 in ubuntu" and lots of guides will pop up hours after it's out.

However, you should wait a while to see if it gets into the repos.

SunnyRabbiera
September 22nd, 2008, 08:26 PM
really if its just a small minor relese it wont appear in the hardy repositories.
If its a really major security update then you might see it but firefox 3.0.2 isnt that different from 3.0.1 so there is no need to update.

Tatty
September 22nd, 2008, 08:28 PM
I don't see why, if 3.0.1 made it in, 3.0.2 wouldn't get into the Ubuntu repo.

Because the Hardy repo is now considered "stable", so unless there is a vital reason to update to 3.0.2 then it will be left at 3.0.1, as this is known to work.

There are sometimes exceptions to this rule, such as FF3 being updated from beta to RC to final release in Hardy. But i would be surprised if it went from 3.0.1 to 3.0.2 without a major security issue to force the change.

aysiu
September 22nd, 2008, 08:30 PM
Has 3.0.2 even been released?

Mornedhel
September 22nd, 2008, 08:34 PM
But i would be surprised if it went from 3.0.1 to 3.0.2 without a major security issue to force the change.

Well, at some point there *will* be a security release. And Hardy is LTS...

philinux
September 22nd, 2008, 08:39 PM
If it is going to pop up in Hardy it will come from the backports. Which are easily enabled.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuBackports


Else upgrade to Intrepid..

linux5uper
September 22nd, 2008, 08:39 PM
Have you tried the fix for those packages you mentioned?:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=5587712&postcount=472

It fixed ff3 crashes for me. This was written by the guy who worked on pulseaudio I think.

tarahmarie
September 22nd, 2008, 08:40 PM
Actually, I'm using Firefox 3.0.2 right now. It's in the repos. When I installed using "sudo apt-get install firefox-3.0" it automatically got me the latest version. If it's any help, here are the repos I've added to my source list...

http://ppa.launchpad.net/compiz/ubuntu
http://ppa.launchpad.net/fta/ubuntu
http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-members-kde4/ubuntu

Tatty
September 22nd, 2008, 09:02 PM
Actually, I'm using Firefox 3.0.2 right now. It's in the repos. When I installed using "sudo apt-get install firefox-3.0" it automatically got me the latest version. If it's any help, here are the repos I've added to my source list...

http://ppa.launchpad.net/compiz/ubuntu
http://ppa.launchpad.net/fta/ubuntu
http://ppa.launchpad.net/kubuntu-members-kde4/ubuntu

Are you sure you arent using the backports repo? My firefox in hardy is 3.0.1

tarahmarie
September 22nd, 2008, 09:03 PM
Quite sure; I have no backports enabled.

aysiu
September 22nd, 2008, 09:16 PM
Quite sure; I have no backports enabled.
I don't see any Firefox 3.0.2 in the repos:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/search?keywords=firefox&searchon=names&suite=hardy&section=all

As a matter of fact, I don't see Firefox 3.0.2 even on the Firefox homepage.

Mornedhel
September 22nd, 2008, 09:19 PM
I'm using backports, and my Firefox is still 3.0.1.

Does Cutting-Edge Kubuntu (with KDE 4.x) maintain some other repositories ?

anjilslaire
September 22nd, 2008, 09:22 PM
3.0.1 here as well.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html

There is no 3.0.2 as of yet from Mozilla

aysiu
September 22nd, 2008, 10:06 PM
3.0.1 here as well.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html

There is no 3.0.2 as of yet from Mozilla
That's what I'm saying. There is no released 3.0.2 for anyone on any platform, as far as I know.

Mornedhel
September 22nd, 2008, 10:10 PM
'K, so it all boils down to the same for the OP : no 3.0.2 right now. It probably wouldn't have fixed the flash problems anyway.

Just so you know, there are plenty of flash problems in Opera as well.

TheLions
September 22nd, 2008, 10:35 PM
'K, so it all boils down to the same for the OP : no 3.0.2 right now. It probably wouldn't have fixed the flash problems anyway.

Just so you know, there are plenty of flash problems in Opera as well.

you can always install firefox 32bit in which flash works:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=202537

Knacker
September 22nd, 2008, 10:54 PM
cool.thanks all!!

stormtrooprdave
September 23rd, 2008, 10:27 PM
You can get it now from the mozilla ftp site:

http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/

Kow
September 24th, 2008, 04:45 AM
Might as well wait for the Ubuntu update... I would assume they will do one for hardy since 3.0.2 is a 'fix' release, ie it fixes stuff. They do add some features, but ubuntu devs will likely cherry-pick some items. So, even if the version of mozilla in the ubuntu update says 3.0.1 it will include backport patches cherry-picked from the 3.0.2 changes.

Snippet from 3.0.2 rel notes:


Fixed several security issues.
Fixed several stability issues.
Fixed issue that caused some users with customized toolbars to have their Back and Forward buttons go missing (bug 426026)

Tatty
September 24th, 2008, 04:56 AM
3.0.2 is currently in intrepid.

kansasnoob
September 24th, 2008, 05:07 AM
Need some hope that flash,nspluginwrapper, etc. problems are going to be fixed or I've got to start moving things over to opera again.

I swear on a stack of Aesop's Fables that this works, just do what I said in post #7 here:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=919695

Really!

BTW, I'm playing with Intrepid and so far flash works great but it's still in Alpha so things break .......... although much less often than I've seen before.

anewguy
September 24th, 2008, 05:24 AM
I realize that installation from Mozilla itself would be more involved than that from repositories, but I was reading this thread because of problems in 3.0.1 as well. I got to where people where saying 3.0.2 is not available even from Mozilla and had to interject - if you go to Mozilla and request a download for English/Linux it IS 3.0.2 right on the download. I'm going to try installing this just to see if I can get around some problems as well.

marcordenis
September 24th, 2008, 05:44 AM
My Firefox just updated to 3.0.2 automatically (Update Manager)...

kansasnoob
September 24th, 2008, 05:48 AM
Well, in exactly one month the Intrepid RC comes out, and based on the Alpha 6 it's great!

No Flash problems!

wolfie2x
September 24th, 2008, 06:09 AM
I had flash probs in 3.0.1 and got'em fixed by installing Flash 10 plugin.

see this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=926661

to install see this: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=5587712&postcount=472

anewguy
September 24th, 2008, 07:36 AM
My Firefox just updated to 3.0.2 automatically (Update Manager)...

You are correct sir!! I downloaded the package from Mozilla and shortly after doing so the automatic updates kicked in and installed 3.0.2 anyway!

dave :)

keshacoggins
September 24th, 2008, 07:40 AM
I have used mozilla firefox all the version started from 2.0 and till 3.0. I find very good using with that. And as this 3.02 came. I find more handy and comfortable with this...
----------------
Kesha

Internet Marketing (http://www.drivenwide.com)

hfdragon
September 24th, 2008, 09:20 AM
My Firefox just updated to 3.0.2 automatically (Update Manager)...

I updated FF this morning to 3.0.2 and now I don't have any password anymore... :(

All stored passwords have been removed !

Anyone else has this problem ??

k3lt01
September 24th, 2008, 09:30 AM
No my passwords are all there but the update made me re-enter the Username for the first time and then the passwords appeared. The other thing it did was change my homepage to Firefox Home.

NWAdawg
September 24th, 2008, 09:43 AM
My Firefox just updated to 3.0.2 automatically (Update Manager)...

I updated just a few minutes ago. all passwords, bookmarks, history, themes & plugins still there and working.

Zero Prime
September 24th, 2008, 01:54 PM
I wish I wouldn't have updated. Now all the fixes that worked with my dark themes don't work any more. My buttons are dark on dark. Some of my text boxes are black on black. This sucks.

billgoldberg
September 24th, 2008, 01:59 PM
I updated FF this morning to 3.0.2 and now I don't have any password anymore... :(

All stored passwords have been removed !

Anyone else has this problem ??

No I don't have that problem.

SuperSonic4
September 24th, 2008, 02:00 PM
My passwords have been fine too.

presence1960
September 24th, 2008, 02:12 PM
I got updated to Firefox 3.0.2 last night. There were 6 updates I was notified about and 3 or 4 had to do with Firefox.

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 02:41 PM
I know this is a no-no, but I installed updates this morning without even looking at what they were. Now Firefox is all hosed up. The search engine box doesn't work, I get an error when I even try to type in it. And I get a similar error when I try to get somewhere using the address box. I only got here because I had the forums bookmarked. Nothing happens when I go to About Mozilla Firefox under the Help menu, so I don't even know if I have "upgraded" to 3.0.2.

Help?

ThrobbingBrain66
September 24th, 2008, 03:24 PM
I know this is a no-no, but I installed updates this morning without even looking at what they were. Now Firefox is all hosed up. The search engine box doesn't work, I get an error when I even try to type in it. And I get a similar error when I try to get somewhere using the address box. I only got here because I had the forums bookmarked. Nothing happens when I go to About Mozilla Firefox under the Help menu, so I don't even know if I have "upgraded" to 3.0.2.

Help?

Maybe a silly question, but have you tried restarting the browser at all? After I upgraded, my browswer was completely unresponsive. I had to kill it through System Monitor and then everything worked fine.

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 03:36 PM
Yeah, I did. As soon as I restart Firefox I get this:

ASSERT: *** Search: _installLocation: engine has no file!
Stack Trace:
0:ENSURE_WARN(false,_installLocation: engine has no file!,2147500037)
1:()
2:()
3:()
4:epsGetAttr([object Object],hidden)
5:()
6:()
7:currentEngine()
8:get_currentEngine()
9:updateDisplay()
10:init()
11:([object XULElement],0)

billgoldberg
September 24th, 2008, 03:50 PM
Yeah, I did. As soon as I restart Firefox I get this:

ASSERT: *** Search: _installLocation: engine has no file!
Stack Trace:
0:ENSURE_WARN(false,_installLocation: engine has no file!,2147500037)
1:()
2:()
3:()
4:epsGetAttr([object Object],hidden)
5:()
6:()
7:currentEngine()
8:get_currentEngine()
9:updateDisplay()
10:init()
11:([object XULElement],0)


sudo apt-get autoremove firefox --purge

then


sudo apt-get install firefox

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 03:58 PM
OK, thanks. I won't lose my bookmarks, etc?

kostkon
September 24th, 2008, 04:01 PM
OK, thanks. I won't lose my bookmarks, etc?
You'll lose them. So, before doing this, backup your current Firefox profile.

kintoandar
September 24th, 2008, 04:08 PM
Same problem here.
The password manager isn't working, I've tryed to purge firefox and reinstall but the problem continues.

Going to restore an older backup and wait for more feedback from the community, certainly there isn't only two users with the same glitch.

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 04:17 PM
OK, worth a try. Thanks

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 04:23 PM
Still have the same problem. Is there a way to tell it to install 3.0.1 instead of the latest version?

kostkon
September 24th, 2008, 04:45 PM
Still have the same problem. Is there a way to tell it to install 3.0.1 instead of the latest version?
Maybe Firefox is OK, but for some reason your profile misbehaves.

You could try to run Firefox with a new fresh profile and test the password manager on a site.

To do it, open a terminal, and give

firefox -profilemanager
create a new profile and start Firefox with it. You don't need to make it the default one.

If everything works OK, then it means that your current profile is corrupted or something like that. You can then try to migrate from this profile to your new one (e.g. transfer bookmarks, extensions, etc. You will not be able to move any data sensitive stuff like passwords etc. from the old to the new profile, so you'll need to login to all of your sites again, etc).

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 04:54 PM
To do it, open a terminal, and give

firefox -profilemanager
create a new profile and start Firefox with it. You don't need to make it the default one.

Hmmm... when I type that command, Firefox opens ... with my own profile (my homepages), and still the same error screen.

hfdragon
September 24th, 2008, 05:17 PM
The password problem is known :

https://bugs.launchpad.net/firefox/+bug/270429

The problem is not comming from firefox, but xulrunner.

Here is the (temporary) workaround :


sudo su -
wget http://uk.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/x/xulrunner-1.9/xulrunner-1.9-gnome-support_1.9.0.1+build1+nobinonly-0ubuntu0.8.04.3_i386.deb
wget http://uk.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/main/x/xulrunner-1.9/xulrunner-1.9_1.9.0.1+build1+nobinonly-0ubuntu0.8.04.3_i386.deb
dpkg -r --force-depends xulrunner-1.9 xulrunner-1.9-gnome-support
dpkg -i xulrunner-1.9_1.9.0.1+build1+nobinonly-0ubuntu0.8.04.3_i386.deb xulrunner-1.9-gnome-support_1.9.0.1+build1+nobinonly-0ubuntu0.8.04.3_i386.deb
exit

I hope this can help...

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 05:36 PM
My problem is not with passwords, it's with using the search engine, and the address box. I can only get to pages through existing bookmarks or links, I can't use google and I can't type the address in directly.

Still stuck....
Regina

reginak
September 24th, 2008, 05:44 PM
**sigh** As it turns out, I had another instance of Firefox running without knowing it. It did not show up on the status bar at bottom of the desktop, along with an Office document I thought was closed. I shut down and started back up ("restart" doesn't actually work for me, it freezes, but that's another issue), and now everything seems to be working fine!

Thanks for your patience, all!

issih
September 24th, 2008, 05:47 PM
I saw a similar problem, search box not working, also preference windows were opening absolutely tiny, and with no content.

I got irritated and restarted the X server and everything has been fine since...

Just thought I'd let people know

social_flea
September 24th, 2008, 10:27 PM
I just updated to Firefox 3.0.2 on Ubuntu 8.04.1 AMD 64 and it works fine. I'm surprised that they released the update so quickly! It usually takes a week or so. I guess Intrepid' development is helping Hardy.

darkmatterhari
September 25th, 2008, 02:23 AM
I saw a similar problem, search box not working, also preference windows were opening absolutely tiny, and with no content.

I got irritated and restarted the X server and everything has been fine since...

Just thought I'd let people know

I had the same issue on both my home and work PCs. Restarted X per this comment and things seem better now. Address bar and search bar working again, yay! After X restarted and I relaunched FF I got a pop-up that 2 add-ons were incompatible versions, being Xulrunner en-GB 1.9 and Firefox en-GB-3.0 (language packs). I would guess that if restarting X doesn't work for someone you could try disabling or uninstalling these manually.

The_Dark_Lord
September 26th, 2008, 01:43 AM
If you want to use the official ubuntu tar from mozilla,com use this script, its fully automatited and they even got there own forums here so i guess i can say its support by ubuntu, i use it and have no problems what so ever


ubuntuzilla.wiki.sourceforge.net

steveneddy
September 26th, 2008, 02:53 AM
It's in the repos now.

steveneddy
September 26th, 2008, 03:08 AM
It's actually 3.0.3 now.

t0p
September 26th, 2008, 06:04 AM
Today's update gave me firefox 3.0.3, amongst some other stuff.

oldsoundguy
September 26th, 2008, 06:10 AM
flash 10 beta works fine .. a LOT better than 9.x. So you have a choice if you are running the Ubuntuzilla (Mozilla) version of Firefox on earlier builds .. you can do your update to 3.03 at the site and then go get Flash 10 from Adobe and install it. I did so with no problems.