PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] ipod not mounted automatically in Amarok, no safely disconnect possible

Cozze
September 22nd, 2008, 06:10 PM
Hi,

I configured my ipod in amarok and is displayed in the device tab, but I am still encountering a few problems:

1) when I connect my ipod it is not automatically mounted, even when I click on the connect button I get a message "media devices: no mounted ipod found". However, when I select the music folder (after clicking the ipod icon on my desktop) the files stored on my ipod are displayed in Amarok.

2) when I want to disconnect my ipod safely by clicking the disconnect button i get the following message "Post-disconnect command failed, before removing device, please make sure that it is safe to do so.

Anyone some advice,
Many thanks from the absolute beginner

qstraza
September 22nd, 2008, 06:16 PM
well i always umount the device from the console, thats all you can do, basically

clive littlewood
September 22nd, 2008, 06:29 PM
Hi

It appears that some types of ipod will give this error.

You should have an icon on you desktop when the ipod is mounted.

Right click on this and click unmount to be sure.

cl

Cozze
September 23rd, 2008, 07:11 PM
well i always umount the device from the console, thats all you can do, basically

Hmm ... thanks but, like I said I am an absolute beginner :lolflag: could you give me some details about the exact command in console.

Thanks, Cozze

Cozze
September 23rd, 2008, 07:20 PM
Hi

It appears that some types of ipod will give this error.

You should have an icon on you desktop when the ipod is mounted.

Right click on this and click unmount to be sure.

cl

Hi,

thanks for your help: I am getting there slowly ... mounting/connecting my ipod this way works just fine. but when I try to savely remove by right clicking the ipod I get following message