PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems installing mysql-server-5.0

joonty
September 22nd, 2008, 11:08 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to linux, I know commands but have no understanding of the inner workings. I'm trying to set up apache, mysql and php on my computer to run a localhost for web development. I happily sailed through the apache config and installation, but when it came to mysql I had a nightmare trying to install it from source. So eventually I realised I could "apt-get mysql-server-5.0", which was much easier.

Except...

It fails to start. I've been Googling my head off trying to find other people with the same problem, which I have. But none of the solutions that they had worked for me. Here's what happens when I install it:

$ sudo apt-get install mysql-server-5.0
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Suggested packages:
mysql-doc-5.0 tinyca
Recommended packages:
libhtml-template-perl mailx
The following NEW packages will be installed
mysql-server-5.0
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0B/28.0MB of archives.
After this operation, 89.2MB of additional disk space will be used.
Preconfiguring packages ...
Selecting previously deselected package mysql-server-5.0.
(Reading database ... 97284 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking mysql-server-5.0 (from .../mysql-server-5.0_5.0.51a-3ubuntu5.1_amd64.deb) ...
Setting up mysql-server-5.0 (5.0.51a-3ubuntu5.1) ...
* Stopping MySQL database server mysqld [ OK ]
Reloading AppArmor profiles : done.
* Starting MySQL database server mysqld [fail]
invoke-rc.d: initscript mysql, action "start" failed.
dpkg: error processing mysql-server-5.0 (--configure):
subprocess post-installation script returned error exit status 1
Errors were encountered while processing:
mysql-server-5.0
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

Can anyone help me?

Many thanks, Joonty

gervin23