PDA

View Full Version : Urgent Advice Needed For a Referance Mail

Ekril
September 22nd, 2008, 07:58 AM
I am a Freshman Student in European University of Lefke which is located in TRNC (North Cyprus) . I tried to put some posters in student dormitories and halls. But the authority (Called Office Of the Dean of Students) had talled me that i should have a Referance mail from Canonical Corp. and/or from GNU (cause i talled them that Ubuntu GNU/Linux is an software which is produced as OpenSource and I am free to distrubate it "as is". ). But i do not know how i may get a referance which says that "As any human who lives on earth I have the right to distrubate any Open Source Software."

If there is somebody who can tell me what must i do i will be glad.

Thanks

Ekrem.

mips
September 22nd, 2008, 08:36 AM
You can reference this:
http://www.ubuntu.com/community/ubuntustory/licensing
http://www.ubuntu.com/community/ubuntustory/philosophy
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/shipit-faq -"How much does Ubuntu cost?"
http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/gpl.html
http://www.opensource.org/docs/definition.php
http://www.fsf.org/

Add the web links to the top of the documents when you print them.

I do not see why they need a reference email. Imagine if everyone asked for one?
The license conditions are clearly stated on their websites for all to see.

Ekril
September 22nd, 2008, 08:46 AM
Mips thanks..

But you may be sure that i have credited nearly all the links you have mentioned. But they want "a written permission." which sounds foolish. : )

And i also know that this will be a hard process to gain (if i can) a written permission.

Hate burocracy

binbash
September 22nd, 2008, 09:06 AM
Mips thanks..

But you may be sure that i have credited nearly all the links you have mentioned. But they want "a written permission." which sounds foolish. : )

And i also know that this will be a hard process to gain (if i can) a written permission.

Hate burocracy