PDA

View Full Version : Learning - Which Language?

Adam87
September 21st, 2008, 05:23 PM
Hey everyone.

I'm 20 years old and looking at going into a career with Programming.
I am not a complete newbie to this, and know some basics. I used to code websites using HTML, DHTML, PHP, MySQL and XML some years ago, and of course remember all the basics, and some of the more advanced with PHP and MySQL in which i mastered.

Recently i have been looking around, and job wise, i realised it would be best to take up in .Net, then to branch out once securing a position.

I am currently doing a course in VB.Net, finishing next June, which will leave me with the MS certificate.

But where should i be heading from there? If i excel i can take the certificate early, and leave that as my course completed.

Looking around i see a lot of people say ColdFusion, Pyhton, Ruby and the C family (is C Cold Fusion?)

I want to look mainly at Desktop and Game Programming, obviously with learning VB.Net, with the route into ASP.Net, the web side will be covered. I realise C# is incredibly similar to VB.Net, and will only need to learn the conversions.

What would be the best course, and why do you say that? what do each have to offer over the others?

Thanks very much in advance.
- Adam Riddick

nvteighen
September 21st, 2008, 06:21 PM
Looking around i see a lot of people say ColdFusion, Pyhton, Ruby and the C family (is C Cold Fusion?)

Oh, man... C is a programming language (see my sig), the language in which UNIX, the Linux kernel and most of GNU apps are written. Adobe ColdFusion is something absolutely different (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ColdFusion).

But, better read the stickies.

lukjad
September 21st, 2008, 07:09 PM
From the hype I have heard, python seems to be a good jumping off place. I plan to learn it some day. :)

Sinkingships7
September 21st, 2008, 07:14 PM