PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless Network With File Server - Security Question

Dthorton15
September 21st, 2008, 05:29 AM
Hello all!
Im pretty new to Linux but in the near future I'm going to be getting a server from a friend of mine with Ubuntu Linux on it. Once I get it I intend on installing Samba on it so I can use it as a network drive for my 2 other PC's(Windows).

That said:
They are both wireless and are used wireless constantly(move around alot) and I was wondering how secure it would be to have a wireless file server.
Right now via my router I have a few security settings:
-Anti-Spoof(Defends against spoofed IP and MAC addresses)
-Mac Filtering
-WPA Encryption
-Broadcast off

With the Ethernet cord running directly into the server and setting it in my router that only the local ip's of my 2 computers can access the server should that be enough security to protect my files on the server from being viewed by an intruder?

Thanks in advanced.

edit: Also if someone could explain what the eth0 eth1 etc system is that would be cool. If not I'll figure it out.

virtuallinux
September 21st, 2008, 05:45 AM
That sounds pretty secure to me. You can also set up restrictions on who can access the server through Samba.

As far as explaining the "eth0 eth1 etc. system", that's kinda a broad question. Basically, each network interface on the system gets labeled ethx, where x is replaced with the number of the network interface, starting at 0. For example, if you had three network interfaces, you would have eth0, eth1, and eth2. If that doesn't make sense, isn't clear, or doesn't answer your question, feel free to PM me.

Dthorton15
September 21st, 2008, 06:05 AM
That sounds pretty secure to me. You can also set up restrictions on who can access the server through Samba.Cool TY.

For example, if you had three network interfaces, you would have eth0, eth1, and eth2.Thanks a lot I understand now.

I made a little diagram of what I want to do--is it possible?