PDA

View Full Version : Design questions

hoboy
September 20th, 2008, 08:31 AM
I have problem, I have learned Java syntax, but still I am a poor programmer, the reason I have found is that I am a very poor program designer.
I need a advices--links--tutorials-- in short a help from other programmers what did you do to pass this stage of your programming learning,please help me with your experiences.
As I am poor designerit makes me a poor code.
I want to understand program design.
Any suggestion is very welcome.
How do I define what is an interface in a given problem ?
How do I dicide if a method should take a parameter/parameters.

Reiger
September 20th, 2008, 11:41 AM
Well in Java the idea of an interface is that you define 'what methods you' have for a given 'type'. The benefit is that you can create methods that operate on anything which implements the interface and that you can rely on the interface-methods to be available. Essentially interfaces work like an API: you say "I don't know how you should do it, but I do know that you do it; so I can count on you to do that for me."

This is useful if you have a (potential for a) lot of similar cases but details differ subtly from one case to another. For instance if you were writing a paint like program you may find that the difference between a filled rectangle and an empty rectangle is not that great. Just a call to a different AWT.Graphics method. And similarly you may have tools for a line and for an empty circle and for a filled circle.

Now instead of writing 4 or 5 different classes for that one (and future, not yet implemented tools); you could also define an interface:

/* imports required?... */
public interface PaintTool
void update([params]); // when drawing an as of yet unfinished thing
void createIcon([params]); // the sample in the GUI
void paint([params]); // the finished product
void restore([params]); // if redo is pressed, or if loaded from a save
[Object] p1; // the origin of the object