PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with partitions.

Ciju
September 20th, 2008, 04:59 AM
Hello, I am new to Linux, Ubuntu and this forum. I want to say that its much better than windows vista already, and I just got it. My problem is, that I only want to keep windows vista for games and other minor things I cannot run on Ubuntu so then I got a few questions:

~I have a 500GB HD (approximately) and when I partitioned (with the help of a friend) a part for Ubuntu I made Ubuntu only 50 GB big. Now after reading around a bit and seeing just how much more secure Ubuntu is, I want to use it as my main OS and my main HD. By this I mean I want to make my Vista partition (being C://:confused: ?) to 50GB and make the other 450 GB for my movies, pictures and other personal things on my Ubuntu. So in the end I will only be using Windows for games ( GuildWars, Counter Strike, etc.) My question is can I reformat just Vista ( clear it all) and then make it only 50Gb and add the rest to my already existing Ubuntu without formating Ubuntu in anyway?If so, how can I do it the easiest way? Please keep in mind that I am VERY new to Ubuntu (Gnome) but I find my way really easily throughout Windows.

P.S. I use Ubuntu Gnome so I didn't know what to put for the Prefix, Ubuntu or Gnome.

-Thanks a lot, Eric.

zxscooby
September 20th, 2008, 05:08 AM
Vista includes a tool for resizing partitions. I would use
it to shrink the windows partition and then format the free
space.

Ciju
September 20th, 2008, 05:14 AM
Once I partition the windows, will it get rid of all the content? And once I do partition it to a smaller size, then how can I take the space I just too out of it and attach it to my Ubuntu?

Shazaam
September 20th, 2008, 05:23 AM
No need to format. Use the Vista partitioner to shrink Vista to the size that you want.
This is a default Ubuntu install, correct? No separate /home partition?