PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problem with upgrading to 8.04

boogey
September 19th, 2008, 12:28 AM
hey everybody, I'm pretty new to this all so I appologise if this is a rather stupid question:

I'm trying to upgrade my laptop to ubuntu 8.04. This is what I get:

Not enough free disk space

The upgrade aborts now. The upgrade needs a total of 1411M free space on disk '/usr'. Please free at least an additional 167M of disk space on '/usr'. Empty your trash and remove temporary packages of former installations using 'sudo apt-get clean'.

but even after I did that I still get the same message. I tried to clean my computer up but nothing helped so far.

This is my discspace:
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1 1.4G 604M 663M 48% /
varrun 252M 88K 252M 1% /var/run
varlock 252M 4.0K 252M 1% /var/lock
udev 252M 140K 252M 1% /dev
devshm 252M 0 252M 0% /dev/shm
lrm 252M 19M 234M 8% /lib/modules/2.6.15-52-386/volatile
/dev/sda8 60G 26G 32G 45% /home
/dev/sda6 4.6G 3.2G 1.2G 74% /usr
/dev/sda7 2.8G 257M 2.4G 10% /var

I'm not quite sure what I can safely delete in /usr, so if someone could quickly (I guess I'm just too inexperienced - and I don't want to mess anything up) help me there, it would be really appreciated.
cheers

haydnc
September 19th, 2008, 12:38 AM
This is my discspace:

If you're planning on upgrading and not keeping an active version of (Dapper?) on your machine the easiest way might possibly be to just install 8.04 directly over the top of your existing installation.

I've done this a couple of times in the past without any serious issues and as long as you've not been putting data in non-standard locations as long as you don't format over the top of your /home mount point (/dev/sda8) you won't lose any of your own data.