PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] JOptionPanes always crash

semitone36
September 18th, 2008, 06:38 PM
:)Hi!

This is a bit of a strange question. Im a freshman CompSci major and Im learning Java in a programming class. I use gedit on my laptop to write my programs. The problem is that whenever I write a program that invoves the methods (not sure if thats the right terminology but whatever) JOptionPane.showInputDialog or JOptionPane.showMessageDialog the window that this produces always freezes and get an error message that says "**** is not responding" and I have to force quit the window to get it off my screen.

I know that there is nothing wrong with my source code because I can compile and run it just fine on other computers (using Kate)but for some reason it wont work on my laptop. Has anyone had problems with this before? Is it a gedit bug? Any help is appreciated.:)

rlzyoner
September 18th, 2008, 06:43 PM
Are you compiling and running from the command line ?

semitone36
September 18th, 2008, 09:15 PM
Yup. I use the javac and java commands to compile/execute it.

xlinuks
September 18th, 2008, 09:26 PM
rlzyoner probably means to post the error stack trace if any, or file a bug report.

semitone36
September 18th, 2008, 09:40 PM
post the error stack trace if any, or file a bug report.

Haha Ill have to remind you that Im a freshman CompSci major. How do I do that?

Reiger
September 18th, 2008, 11:01 PM
Running from a commandline should make it dump all errors to the shell, so just select that and copy it from your shell?

Anywho: you sure you have a JDK by SUN installed and not the GNU version (only). Because the latter one isn't fully compatible with Swing (seen other users try the same and see it break on the GNU interpreter), and at any rate it isn't nowhere near Sun's in terms of supported Java constructs.

semitone36
September 18th, 2008, 11:13 PM