PDA

View Full Version : Unix History - The Humble Beginnings of Linux

skippuff54
September 18th, 2008, 08:46 AM
Hello all,

Just thought new folks might like to review the history of Unix in order to gain some insight into what's going on under the hood of Ubuntu and other forms of Linux. You can find a detailed account here:

http://www.bell-labs.com/history/unix/

The main instigators involved are named Ken Thompson and Dennis Ritchie. Their homepages are here:

Ken Thompson's Homepage (http://plan9.bell-labs.com/who/ken/index.html)

Dennis Ritchie's Homepage (http://plan9.bell-labs.com/who/dmr/index.html)

Enjoy!

P.S. Mods, I'd like to submit this topic for a sticky in the Absolute Beginner's forum.

Kellemora
September 18th, 2008, 05:56 PM
Hi Skip

An interesting read for sure!

But now I'm confused about something.

I thought UNIX predated all other OS's?

Yet according to this article, they were still trying to implement UNIX as a viable OS long after desktop computers became popular.

Or should I say, I had already went through the Apple computers and was using LISA within the date frame they show as the first commercial application of UNIX????? Prior to that, my first computer was a Heath/Zenith Octal Entry, followed by the Apples, the Lisa and finally the MAC, then I switched over to PC's due to client demand.

Either I read something really wrong there or in my old age I'm forgetting just when I was starting to play with these computin' contraptions.

At work we bought a WANG VS system, humongous, and had to have a special clean room with a/c and driers too. Later we downsized but upgraded to the Wang OIS system, and that was all pre 1980 for sure.

Am I mistaken than UNIX was around since computers were magnets and tubes?

I'll go back and reread the article again, but they were showing a summary of dates mentioned throught the article on the last page of the main article.