PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] system sounds, but no sound on webpages?

lanr01
September 17th, 2008, 06:13 PM
Hello from a newbie. I have installed ubuntu and things are going fairly well so far with getting things setup, But I am having a little problem figuring out what I am missing. I have system sounds, but any webpage that I go to that has sound, I get nothing on my side. I am new to this as I have been forced to use MS until now. Am I missing some codex or is there something I need to change with how firefox is setup? This is more or less a straight out of the box setup running on an amd 64 machine. I am using the onboard sound, and have system sounds.

Thanks,
Rick

eggdeng
September 17th, 2008, 10:27 PM
System sounds and mutimedia apps use different drivers - ESD and ALSA respectively. If you can play back the multimedia files in /home/your_user/examples, your drivers are OK and you can turn your attention to codecs. On a fresh ubuntu install, you will need codecs for DVD playback, Win32 codecs, a flash plug-in and a few other things. Most people get these from the mediubuntu repository. There are lots of how-tos, you need to shop around a bit. One to get you started: http://www.zimbio.com/mp4+Converter/articles/165/How+Install+Media+Codecs+Flash+DVD+QuickTime

lanr01
September 18th, 2008, 10:00 AM
Ok, this will be a very stupid question to most of you, but what program do i use to install a bin file with? I downloaded realplayer bin file and I am being asked what application to use to open the file with. This link needs to be opened with an application. Send to: and it gives me a choose an application by Choose... But having never used linux, I don't know what I should look for and choose... an archive manager maybe?

Rick

lanr01
September 18th, 2008, 10:57 AM