PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] grub error 17, among other things

wriggary
September 17th, 2008, 02:41 PM
Hi, new Ubuntu user here.

Having some problems getting my ubuntu 8.04.1 to boot. (betcha it isn't the first time you've heard that!)

Now, its not that I'm not technically adept. I've stumbled my way around a few live distros, had some fun. (dsl and slax) I thought I was ready for the big time: Dual Booting into a installed distro. And, of course, I had to take the hard way about it.

Due to space concerns (physical, i have another computer but there is no room to hook it up... small apartment), and some important (and expensive) educational software of my spouse's, Vista isn't leaving sda (150 gb SATA) anytime soon. nor is the bootloader.

But i thought "Hey, it's okay. My (erm... her) $299 wal-mart special (Compaq- Built early '07) allows me to select a boot device at startup, so i'll just install the bootloader on the second hard drve, and select the device to boot ubuntu from whenever I want to load Ubuntu.

So, after a thorough defrag of my media storage drive (150G PATA), I used the included partitioning tool on the install cd to shrink the ntfs partition roughly 11 gb, set up a (initally ext3, now reiserfs hoping that would change something) 10gb root partition and a 1024 mb linux swap area. On the last step of the install under the advanced options, I changed the bootloader location away from (hd0) to sdb, the MBR of the media disk. The install finished with no complaints, and kindly asked me to remove the Ubuntu CD from the tray. I obliged, and pressed enter to restart the computer.

A few seconds later, ESC to select the boot device... selected the WD internal drive...

Grub loading stage 1.5

Grub error 17.

mmmkay.